The Monday Set: Shout Out Louds – Los Angeles – 5/23/2013

Shout Out Louds (2 of 4)

Shout Out Louds
El Rey Theater
Los Angeles, CA

Stockholm’s Shout Out Louds have just finished their US tour in support of the new album Optica with a two-night stand at LA’s El Rey Theater. It was their first visit to the city in three years. If you haven’t heard them before, their music can be described as often bleakly wistful lyrics completely camouflaged by bright, sunny tunes. Over the years, they’ve increasingly polished up their production and slowed down their tempos — originally, they could clearly be categorized as garage-rock revivalists, but now they almost sound like Gran Turismo-era Cardigans in those regards.

This recording is from the first show, which featured a good mix of new and old, with seven songs off the new record, and three each from their killer début, 2005’s Howl Howl Gaff Gaff, 2007’s Our Ill Wills, and 2010’s Work. A real standout was main set closer “Very Loud,” which featured the addition of lyrics from LCD Soundsystem’s classic, “All My Friends.”

Drummer Eric Edman was not present for this tour.

Set list:
1. Sugar
2. Walking in Your Footsteps
3. The Comeback
4. Impossible
5. Candle Burned Out
6. Chasing the Setting Sun
7. Fall Hard
8. Illusions
9. Blue Ice
10. Hard Rain
11. Please Please Please
12. 14th of July
13. Very Loud (includes part of LCD Soundsystem’s “All My Friends”)

14. Destroy
15. Walls
16. Tonight I Have to Leave It

Download: Shout Out Louds – Los Angeles – 5/23/2013 – 445 MB

Sample: Very Loud (Live)
[jwplayer config=”CustomPlayerAudio” file=”″]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *